October 12, 2009

A bit of my Zodiac...

So, I was reading this site with me coworker (a little bit o' Irish, not a typo) and I had to share it as I find it interesting enough, even if only for me because it seems to ring true with most of it.

I copied and borrowed this from a website that I came across by chance… or by a Google search that the Google Gods sent forth to me. Would that be by chance or fate…? (dem’s jokes, people!). I give credit to “Ken Ward’s Astrology Pages”. This mostly applies to me and my Aries sisters, but if you would like to visit for your own enthusiasm, the web address is:


~ Libra ~

My sign is a "cardinal" one that comes from the French word "cardo", meaning a hinge, that on which something turns. It is the most important part. The cardinal directions are the north, south, east and west. They are the times when the seasons change. Aries for Spring; Cancer for Summer; Libra for Autumn; and Capricorn for Winter. They therefore are times for a new beginning. Mind you, my favorite time of year is Autumn/Fall.

In Astrology, the cardinal signs are the first, fourth, seventh and tenth (Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn). These signs are characterised by enterprise, or starting things.

Sometimes Aries and Libra are called equinox signs, and Cancer and Capricorn are called solstice signs. Equinoxes are times of perfect balance between day and night (day and night are 12 hours long). The solstice times are the times of the longest day (Cancer) and the longest night (Capricorn).

Aries and Libra are times of balance, but also times of abrupt change. Cancer and Capricorn are times of extremes. The diagram below shows the zodiac in its natural form, with Aries in the first position (the start of spring) and the signs on their natural angles.
Quadruplicity Signs ~ Keywords:

Cardinal Aries Cancer Libra Capricorn Enterprise
Fixed Taurus Leo Scorpio Aquarius Stability
Mutable Gemini Virgo Sagittarius Pisces Adaptability

The sequence of cardinal (create, begin), fixed (change or maintain) and mutable (change to something else, end, destroy) is part of all the things we experience in the world. This pattern recurs through the horoscope in the quarters of the zodiac. Because these are four groups (or quarters) they are called quadruplicities.

Cardinal Signs

The cardinal signs are associated with starting things, initiating things or being "enterprising". They are forceful and aggressive and have the will to accomplish something, often something new. They project into the world. They are creative in the sense that they cause things and start things. (This part, I'm not entirely sure of. This "enterprising mumbo jumbo means change; I don't do well with change.)

Aries people will do this energetically and urgently (or impatiently). They cannot wait to do what they have in mind to do and that which is motivated by their enthusiasm.

Cancer people are emotionally assertive. They project emotion in a protective and sensitive way.

Librans do it in a balanced way, considering the viewpoints of others. Because they are people of air, they are more likely to project in a verbal way (yeah, this is a wee bit true!), compared with Aries who take action on their enthusiasm. Librans will tend to use language to cause others to take the necessary action.

Capricorn projects in a practical, down to earth manner. It takes action based on practical need, and success.

Well, there is definitely more, but I thought I would share these snippets as I'm surrounded by Aries and Librans... you know who you are!

No comments:

Post a Comment